

Kokua Award Ceremony

- 1 p.m. Sunday
- Lakeside Stage



Join us as we honor **Deanna Arroyo**, founder of Ohana Animal Rescue, whose leadership and service in this organization has resulted in over 100 volunteers saving over 1,000 dogs and cats annually from euthanasia lists and finding them new families.

Deanna has always shared her life with companion animals. She was moved to create Ohana Animal Rescue through her service as a volunteer 'foster'. 'Fosters' take adoptable animals into their home until their own 'ohana' is found.

When creating the nonprofit, Deanna reached back to her own heritage and chose 'Ohana' as part of the name because pets are so much a part of the family.

The Arizona Aloha Festival Kokua Award is given to members of the Arizona community who believe in service. Awardees contribute their time and talents in many ways to foster better understanding of and generate direct impact upon both South Pacific Islanders and the Arizona community at large.

Past Awardees:

2014	Lacretia Bacon	2005	Laupanana lauluoa
2013	Sione Fa	2004	Ray Tso
2012	No nominations received	2003	Sione Toetuu Hola
2011	Claudia Kaercher	2002	Benny Stillman
2010	Kehau Chrisman	2001	Uncle Ernie Menehune
2009	Lisamarie Leina'ala-Pua'ala Ibarra	2000	Clayre Banks Jones
2008	Kaimikahu Mathews-Valdez	1999	Taua Papali'i
2007	Dana 'Moon' Kahele	1998	Joseph L. Leuck
2006	Edwin Tampos, Hazel Soares, Lono Navarro	1997	Carlton Stant